Chewing the fat

May 16, 2008 rooroo

I was reading the blog on Stumptuous the other day, and I came across this study which claims that an adults number of adipose (fat) cells stays fairly constant throughout adult life.

I found this oddly alarming and reassuring. Alarming in the sense that the mental images of the fat mysteriously vanishing from my body in droves was false, but reassuring that I’m still the same old me, just with smaller cells in some aspects.

Entry Filed under: body image, fat, musings

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. elle&hellip  | 

    Mmm, *nods* AFAIK, that’s true.

    When I was at the American Diabetes Association annual medical meeting a few years ago, a guy presented some interesting research on ‘molecular liposuction’. It used some aspect of the vegf pathway, I think, to cut off blood supply to adipose tissue, thereby killing rather than shrinking the cells.

    I don’t have the first idea where to find the paper, and need to hot-foot it to Devon, but when I have a bit of time I should be able to dig it out.

  • 2. elle&hellip  | 

    How poor memory can be! Nothing to do with vegf – full article here

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Pages

  •  
