Food: GN Butternut squash soup

April 20, 2008 rooroo

I was trying to find an effective way to communicate how I feel about this recipe, and came up with this.

YOU

HAVE

TO

TRY

THIS!!!

Ignoring how good butternut squash is for you (high in fibre and antioxidants) this soup is like instant happiness (not even the best SSRIs can beat that). It has a delicious aromatic heady blend about it (thanks to spices such as cinnamon and cumin) and I opted to use my auntie’s homemade chilli oil which transformed it into liquid sunshine in a bowl. I decided not to use turkey or leftover chicken as a garnish as I didn’t want to distract my senses, but obviously you’d want to have some protein to balance it out if you wish.

The only downside to this recipe is that butternut squash requires peeling. I normally cut the neck off and peel the separate pieces as I would peel an orange. I’ve found this method keeps me sane but if you have better ideas, please let me know!

The result of 15 minutes of torment:

Saute the pieces in a large saucepan until they’re lightly browned. I decided not to use butter or coconut oil and used the chilli oil instead. I then added some chopped onion, grated ginger and garlic and sauteed for another couple of minutes. Then 1tsp of ground cumin and cinnamon, along with a few cups of stock (I used chicken stock, but it’s completely reasonable to use vegetable).

Bring to the boil, then turn down the heat and simmer for 30 minutes or until the squash is soft. Blitz in a blender or use a handheld one until smooth.

Liquid sunshine.

Entry Filed under: food

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sharon&hellip  | 

    Thank you for printing the pics with this deliecious recipe!! I made it and it was delicious!! nothing i like better then something that tastes great and is healthy!!! Plus, easy to make, thanks again. Suzanne

  • 2. elle&hellip  | 

    Me, me, I get a gold star!

    Just cut the squash in half, stick the halves in the oven (bout 180C) and cook til the insides is tender. Then you can scoop all the flesh out of the skins and chuck in in with your sauteed onions, garlic etc. Much easier, and it concentrates all the yummy, squishy squashy flavour.

    Btw, I made pumpkin and chilli soup a while back and described it exactly as sunshine in a bowl. I couldn’t eat it without smiling.

  • 3. dommebell&hellip  | 

    Ah excellent, I hadn’t thought of that. Will definitely give it a go next time I make a batch.

    I remember you describing it as such. A soup that can bring instant happiness and nutrition. Genius!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Pages

  •  
