Food: How I eat

April 19, 2008 rooroo

I’m a big fan of John Berardi Ph.D I could happily copious amounts of time reading the articles on his website. I sometimes have people asking me about my dietary habits, and I point them to this:

The 7 Habits of Highly
Effective Nutritional Programs

1. Eat every 2-3 hours, no matter what. You should eat between 5-8 meals per day.

2. Eat complete (containing all the essential amino acids), lean protein with each meal.

3. Eat fruits and/or vegetables with each food meal.

4. Ensure that your carbohydrate intake comes from fruits and vegetables. Exception: workout and post-workout drinks and meals.

5. Ensure that 25-35% of your energy intake comes from fat, with your fat intake split equally between saturates (e.g. animal fat), monounsaturates (e.g., olive oil), and polyunsaturates (e.g. flax oil, salmon oil).

6. Drink only non-calorie containing beverages, the best choices being water and green tea.

7. Eat mostly whole foods (except workout and post-workout drinks).
So what about calories, or macronutrient ratios, or any number of other things that I’ve covered in other articles? The short answer is that if you aren’t already practicing the above-mentioned habits, and by practicing them I mean putting them to use over 90% of the time (i.e., no more than 4 meals out of an average 42 meals per week violate any of those rules), everything else is pretty pointless.

Easy to follow, simple, effective. When I eat like this, I never get hungry, I don’t get slumps and I generally feel pretty good.

Entry Filed under: food

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Recent Links Tagged With &hellip  | 

    […] public links >> 7habits Food: How I eat Saved by bhertzing on Tue 28-10-2008 7 Habits Of Ineffective People Saved by romanchan on Sat […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Pages

  •  
