Food: chicken pesto pizzas

April 15, 2008 rooroo

I think GN lists these as a post workout meal rather than an anytime meal (NB: it does) but yesterday after a long day at the hospital, I was pining for something comforting.

Oddly enough I had never even considered using pesto as a pizza sauce, but I’m really glad I gave it a go as the delicious green goo bought out the flavours in the accompanying green vegetables. As usual, I didn’t have any wholemeal tortillas in the house, so I used wholemeal pitta bread instead. In addition to this and the pesto, the remaining ingredients were: chicken, broccoli, asparagus, onions and some Swiss cheese.

Before

And after.

For some odd reason, we ate at the table, but would be good enough to eat in front of the TV while feeling virtuous at the same time. Almost a tale of opposites – filling, yet light. They could probably work well as a mid-afternoon snack.

Entry Filed under: food

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lady G&hellip  | 

    Yum! I’ve never tried broccoli on a pizza before, but this looks good!

  • 2. dommebell&hellip  | 

    It works surprising well considering it’s not a typical pizza topping, I thought it would toughen up as I was putting it straight onto the pitta bread raw, but it cooked in the oven enough to just retain a little bite.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Pages

  •  
