These 5.30am starts…

April 9, 2008 rooroo

Today was a day of many firsts.

I was in the fracture clinic this morning and saw quite a few patients. Some were children, so it was great to get some paeds experience. I’m now very paranoid about falling out onto an outstretched hand.

My firm also got a lot of praise from the consultant, as we were all working really hard getting out histories and presenting back. The Swedish registrar said he had never seen the clinic finish so early.

I mastered my form on the push press, yay! I could really feel it in my delts, I’m glad I discovered this exercise.

And someone on The F Word said: I’m sorry but I just don’t believe that you “deadlift” 60Kg. Thats more than I weigh!  I’m not quite sure why the ‘ ‘ on the word deadlift (perhaps it’s something to do with moving corpses?) but it made me raise my eyebrow just a little. Ignoring the egocentric portion of the comment, it’s not really much skin off my nose what a person thinks of my routine, weight training isn’t to everyone’s taste, but be assurred, if I was going to lie about my workout, I’d pick a sexier number than just 60kgs!

Also, from a feminist site, I wonder how the moderation team would have reacted had it been something like I’m sorry but I just don’t believe that you “were raped”. I’m sorry but I just don’t believe that you were “fired because of a pregnancy” or I’m sorry but I just don’t believe that you “were unable” to breastfeed.

Their rules and regs prior to posting specify that they decide what’s anti-feminist. In all honesty though, I don’t believe that what said to me was anti-feminist (just a bit rude) and I have much bigger things to care about in the grand scheme of things, but I do understand how some women feel alienated by feminism, especially my girlfriends who refuse to call themselves that for that very reason.

More importantly, I was pleased to be walking around the flat in clothing, as my flatmate returned home earlier than I expected.

Entry Filed under: feministing, free range rude

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lady G&hellip  | 

    I reckon it was probably just someone who’s never had the benefit of trying to get stronger and lift heavier, and feel that feats like deadlifting 60kg is out of their reach!

    Personally I have no trouble believing it; I’m thinking I could incorporating deadlifts more regularly so I too can deadlife someone’s body weight!

  • 2. dommebell&hellip  | 

    Yeah, looking back I was thinking to myself, “Is 60kg really that much?” My boyfriend is deadlifting 70kgs at the moment, I intend on adding more weight to it soon. It’s an awesome exercise, I feel so good after having done a couple of sets.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Pages

  •  
