Language: food

April 9, 2008 rooroo

Over two years ago I stepped off the depression canoe and since then I’ve been vary wary of the messages I expose myself to, consciously or subconsciously. I’m a huge control freak and if I hear something constantly, I start to believe it (not that it’s always a bad thing). I don’t read the newspapers (especially the free ones) as I can’t think of anything worse than pages and pages telling me how bad life is, then stepping off the Tube and getting on with my long day at the hospital.

When I started eating properly for my fitness goals, food became ‘good’ and ‘bad’. Good carbs, bad carbs, you get the picture. Then after a while I realised I had to stop and let go. Food is food. Sure, some is better for me than others, but I eat well enough on a ratio of 90:10, I don’t need to think I’m having a ‘cheat’ meal, a ‘naughty’ bite, a ‘guilty’ pleasure. I eat to eat, to fuel my body and to function. I love food and letting go of the negative connotations associated with it is like dodging the people handing out the crapsheets. But less annoying.

Entry Filed under: food, musings

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Pages

  •  
