Kink of another kind

September 28, 2008 rooroo

For as long as I can remember, I have had an odd relationship with my hair. I was in my teens when the ‘Rachel’ haircut came about, and after that I was fully conscious of the fact that I invested a huge amount of time and energy (+ £££) to getting my hair straight and keeping it that way. When ceramic straighteners came along, it felt like a Road to Demascus moment and I was happy for years. It all comes at a price however, and my hair has been prone to the damage from the heat, and it wouldn’t be unusual to have handfuls of hair come out in the shower.

I remember visiting a hairdresser years ago and she asked me if I wanted my hair styled straight, or curly. I was flattered at the fact that she was willing to spend masses of time trying to make my hair curl, but I had places to be. She gave me an odd look and said, “You do realise that your hair is naturally curly?” Well yes, I’m sure that would explain the poofy-frizz I get when a drop of moisture comes my way, but I wasn’t really interested at the time.

Recently I had been thinking about changing my hairstyle as I was getting a bit bored with it, then I read on Skwigg’s blog that she had started using the Curly Girl method and that her hair was a lot happier for it. I’m always wary about things that seem a little too crunchy for my liking, but given the condition my hair was in, and the desire for change I decided to give it a go.

I did a conditioner only wash, slapped on an intense conditioning treatment, added gel and leave-in conditioner, then plopped for 20 minutes (a perfect time to get the apple pie I had made out of the oven and devour it with lashings of cold custard).

I took the t-shirt off my head and was shocked at how curly my hair was. I left it to try for the rest of the day and marvelled at the pretty waves that had formed. It is far from perfect though. Despite the conditioner orgy, parts of it feel very dry, and I think it will take a few weeks to get used to the different regieme. I think it’ll also take my scalp some time in getting used to not being stripped (I used to feel and hear my hair ‘squeek’) so I’m expecting a rebellious grease-fest.

I have my doubts at going ‘poo-free’, I expect I will do some form of cleansing every once in a while, but for now I’m interested to see how things pan out. By the time I do my OSCE (in 10 weeks and 1 day, not that I’m counting) I hope to have waves that look like this

Entry Filed under: body image and tagged:

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Pages

  •  
    Follow

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

